Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here News

Career Guidance Event for Early Career Researchers at the School of Psychology, TCD

Room: AP2.05
Date: Thursday, 2nd June 2022

9.30 – 11am “Building your research track record for your career ahead”

1.30 – 3pm “Fellowship and Research Funding for early career researchers”


Mark Bellgrove is Director of Research at the Turner Institute for Brain and Mental Health, and a Professor in Cognitive Neuroscience in the School of Psychological Sciences, at Monash University, where he leads a multidisciplinary team studying the biological basis of attention and cognitive control. His laboratory comprises state-of-the-art cognitive neuroscience suites alongside molecular facilities for functional genomics. His group has made significant progress in defining the molecular genetic architecture and neurochemical drivers of attention and cognitive control Professor Bellgrove has been at the forefront of international efforts to identify objective and quantifiable indices of genetic risk, termed endophenotypes, for ADHD. His early work identified reliable linkages between catecholamine risk genes for ADHD and distinct neurocognitive profiles. This work was published in high impact journals, has attracted high citations and continues to be influential in shaping the way the field approaches the issue of clinical and aetiological heterogeneity that besets psychiatric genetics. With papers in top-tier journals including Molecular Psychiatry, Nature Neuroscience and the Journal of Neuroscience, Professor Bellgrove is a recognized international expert on the molecular genetics of attention and attention deficit. The research achievements of Professor Bellgrove have been recognized with awards from NARSAD (USA), the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia and Biological Psychiatry Australia. His programme of research is funded by both the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) and Australian Research Council (ARC). He is currently a Future Fellow of the ARC.